Earth Protection

Domii

I am new to this game and only lvl 10. But a spell I have yet to understand is earth protection. I still have it a lvl 1 because I don't see the use of it. The amount of hitpoints I take is the exact same, regardless if I use it or not. It doesn't increase my defense or help reduce the hitpoints I take. What am I missing here? Does it get better if I lvl it up? Is it worth doing so?

1 hour ago, Domii said:

I am new to this game and only lvl 10. But a spell I have yet to understand is earth protection. I still have it a lvl 1 because I don't see the use of it. The amount of hitpoints I take is the exact same, regardless if I use it or not. It doesn't increase my defense or help reduce the hitpoints I take. What am I missing here? Does it get better if I lvl it up? Is it worth doing so?

It is likely that Earth Protection amplifies the current defense of your characters armor 

I am a Death Knight. Not a Shaman but in a dungeon a shaman can cast Earth Protection then heal the player much better than just with healing as defense reduces damage taken. If you want to progress I recommend you increase Earth Protection to max. I'm sure another shaman here may say otherwise so I would say listen to them instead of me

Edited by Drakoknight

The skill increases your defense by a percentage so if you have very low defense it will do little to nothing.

Only after you start getting 2000 or 3000 defense will you start to notice it making a difference.

For example as the formula for damage reduction is Flat Value * 100 / (Flat Value + 6500)

If you have (for example) 500 defense which seems normal at low level you'd have roughly 7% damage reduction.

Earth protection boosts it by 30% to 650 and this increases total damage reduction by only 2% to 9%.

Lvl 10 mobs that do for example 40 damage do not deal enough damage for you to notice this difference.

Now take a lvl 20 tank class with 3000 defense that gives him a damage reduction of 31%